The remove everything choice used to reset the windows device may in fact leave some data behind due to a known issue that has now been acknowledged by Microsoft. In a post on the windows health dashboard, the software giant explained that the problem is caused by its one-drive cloud capacity service.
When attempting to wipe a windows device with apps that have analytics data folders, such as one drive or one drive for business, files that have been downloaded or synced locally from one drive may not be deleted when the remove everything choice is selected.
However, this issue can also occur when attempting a manual reset initiated in windows or a remote reset. Microsoft MVP Rudy Ooms is credited with first discovering this issue after noticing that both remote and local wipes of systems running Windows 10 would leave user data in the operating system’s windows old folder readable. At the same time, the problem also moves data encrypted with bit locker to the same folder, but it is readable afterward because the data is no longer encrypted.
Read More: Clipchamp is Microsoft’s new video enhancing app for Windows eleven
According to Microsoft, the problem was first introduced to Windows 10 systems after the October snowballing update KB5006670. However, all windows models including windows 1020 Hz to 21Hz and even window 11 are affected by the error. Microsoft is presently working on a fix for the issue, which is set to be addressed in an upcoming Windows update that will likely be released sooner rather than later. However, the software giant has now come up with a workaround for Windows users to make sure that no user data is left behind when a system is wiped by resetting a windows device. Essentially it involves signing out of or unlinking one drive before resetting any of your Windows devices.